I Love Amazon, but the Library has E-Books for FREE!

Free Books had me like...

Free Books had me like…

Guess what? I just downloaded TWO books for free from my public library onto my kindle!

It was just as easy as purchasing off of Amazon. I am so stoked. You should be too!

Why is this such a big deal? Well many say that public libraries are long forgotten. There are websites like Oyster and Amazon’s new Unlimited plan that advertise unlimited E-Books for a certain price and many of us, especially book lovers, who come alive during a trip to Barnes and Noble, are “Ooh-ed” and “Ahh-ed” by the beauty of those shiny book covers scrolling past us on LED screens, just waiting to be downloaded into our personal collections with just one click!

“I can read ALL THE BOOKS” I’ll tell myself and then just before I fall for it, a little voice in my head says, “This has to have been done before.” Then I remember it has.

The library has unlimited books. -_-

It's okay Amazon, we will still buy your books

It’s okay Amazon, we will still buy your books

Thanks a lot Amazon for just one more thing to distract me from the local library. Those poor institutions that need attention and definitely deserve more credit than they are given. Those beautiful buildings full of all of Earth’s knowledge. Those pre-coffee shop hang out places for intellectuals, after school kids, and homeless folk alike. They serve so much more a purpose than you, Amazon.

So, I downloaded a few borrowed books and I get 14 days to read them and I can renew if I need more time. How awesome is that?

Please, visit your public library’s website and if you want free books to read on your mobile device or kindle, check there first to see if they have what you’re looking for. 

One thought on “I Love Amazon, but the Library has E-Books for FREE!

Leave a comment